Five Pillars of Islam | Islam Definition World History

(5) Five pillars of Islam definition world history | The Instructions of a Muslim Person

 Five Pillars of Islam in the Quran

  1. The declaration of faith (shahada)
  2. Prayer (salah)
  3. Alms-giving (zakat)
  4. Fasting (sawm)
  5. Pilgrimage (hajj)

Constitute the basic norms of Islamic practice. They are accepted by Muslims globally irrespective of ethnic, regional, or sectarian differences.

Islam is predicated on five principles known as the Five Pillars, and that they are five obligations for Muslims to live a good and responsible life.

The Quran presents them as a framework for worship and an indication of commitment to their faith. (Five Pillars of Islam)
I’m taking a glance at the five pillars of Islam and breaking them down for you so that you can understand them a lot easier.

Now, this is often not an episode for those that are well versed in Islam, but rather for folks that may want to learn a bit more about the faith, quite get a better understanding, or folks that are part of the religion of Islam that just may not even understand what these pillars are.

Now, I got an issue I want to throw out to you before I continue, which is, does one view yourself as a good person or a bad person? Or, like, are you somewhere in between?

Let me know where you think that you fall on the good or bad scale. Down below, both Sunnis and Shias agree on the essential details for completing the five pillars.

Five Pillars of Islam Explained


Therefore the first pillar is Shahada , or faith. the foremost basic requirement of being a Muslim is to publicly state the words, there’s no God but Allah and Muhammad is his messenger in Arabic. And this must be said with sincerity and with none reservations. This testament is that the foundation of all other beliefs and practices in Islam. To become a Muslim, a non-Muslim must repeat the Shahada 3 times in the presence of witnesses.

SALAT (Prayer)

Now, the subsequent pillar of Islam is Salat, or prayer. Salah refers to the obligatory prayers that are done five times each day by Muslims. and that i want to break down what those five prayers are. and that they are. Salat Al-Fajr, Salat Al-Zohor, Salat Al-Asar, Salat Al-Magrib and Salat Al-Esha.

So these prayers function public evidence for a believer’s devotion to Islam. The prayers are usually led by someone who knows the Koran alright and is generally chosen by the congregation. But this doesn’t mean that they need to attend a month to pray. Muslims can pray anywhere. And these prayers are done at dawn also as midday. and there is one at late afternoon, one at sunset and another at nightfall.

I would like you to know that these prayers contain verses from the Quran and are said in Arabic. And these prayers are to be made within the direction of Mecca, Saudi Arabia .

ZAKAT (Alms-Giving)

Now the third pillar of Islam is Zakat which refers to a charity or charitable giving. Every Muslim is obligated to pay some of his or her wealth for the benefit of the poor and needy. the quantity is generally set to a 2.5% of the worth of all liquid assets and income generating properties of an individual and is used to feed the poor or encourage the conversion to Islam as well as support those devoting themselves to the work of Islam and any other suitable cause.

SAWM (Fasting)

Now if you are not Muslim you’ve probably seen or heard of one of your Muslim friends fasting. Well that’s one of the pillars and that one is called Sawm .

During the holy month of Ramadan, Muslims are expected to fast from dawn up until sundown. they are not to eat any food or drink or any sexual relationships with their spouse or significant other. Now the sick, the elderly and ladies who are menstruating or even pregnant and nursing are allowed to break the fast provided that they make up an equal number of days later on in the year.

Although fasting is useful for the health, the Quran advocates fasting as a way of self purification and self restraint. to hunt fairness to Allah, twiddling my thumbs as well as to learn hardships faced by the less fortunate. and therefore the last pillar is probably the most epic and exciting one.

HAJJ (Pilgrimage)

Well, a minimum of to me when I was learning about this. which pillar is Hajj or the pilgrimage. The pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia is an obligation for those who are physically and financially able to do so.

Regardless, there are over 2 million people that go to Mecca each and every single year from all around the world. The annual hodge begins with the 12th month of the Islamic calendar . Now the rites of Hodge include going round the Kabba seven times and going seven times between the hills of Safa and Marwa as did Hagar who had given birth to the Prophet Abraham son Ishmael during her search for water.


So those are the five Pillars of Islam just in case you are wondering. I hope that brought plenty more clarification for you. Shoot me off a message and I’ll do my best to reply as soon as possible. Until next time guys. Stay awesome, stay educated, continue learning and spreading the love within the world.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button